Multi-Millionaires Dispute Study Findings: “It’s Bullshit. Money Does Not Buy Happiness.”

I asked seven wealthy relations the same question; all but one gave variations of the same answer. Key studies agree with the hold out.

Joel Eisenberg
8 min readFeb 18, 2024

--

Photo by Mathieu Stern, Unsplash

Introduction

It’s an age-old question: “Does money buy happiness?”

Many if not most of us have spent much of our lives wanting it, after all. Money, that is.

Indulge me for a moment as I reference personal experience to derive my answer.

I have wanted to write professionally full-time for as long as I remember. Due to decades of diligent work, I managed to attain the dream 22 years ago. I work from my house; my hours are my own.

To get to that point, for all intents I was the stereotypical broke writer for far too many years. Money started coming in, inconsistently mind you, in the early 2000s when I sold my first films and self-published my first book.

It was a seesaw process.

I would earn good money for a particular project, but then not sell or set up anything else for months if not years. Thankfully, my wife was working at the time. I was a lousy provider during that period and a…

--

--

Joel Eisenberg

Joel Eisenberg is an award-winning author, screenwriter, and producer. The Oscar in the profile pic isn’t his but he’s scheming. WGA and Pen America member.