Over 102,000 Followers on NewsBreak and Money Well-Earned; What Works Here Does Not Work There

However, as I’ve stated many times over, a writer should never work so hard in a creator economy as they do on Medium for minimal pay.

Joel Eisenberg
5 min readOct 25, 2022

--

Logo property of Medium.Design

Intro

I started at zero followers on NewsBreak less than two years ago.

And then there’s Medium, a platform with massive potential we all see, but one that chronically disrespects its contributors.

In the sense of contributor respect, Medium has become a colossal joke. Never before in my years of writing here have I read so many writers (and I’m a paid member) discuss having to work so diligently for minimal pay.

In terms of opportunities for writers to practice their craft, or for marketing purposes, the platform continues to be of some value. I’ll grudgingly acknowledge that much.

But what a farce in terms of valuing writers. I took some of my part-time writing muscle and applied it elsewhere, and I’m doing fine financially. My TV, film and publishing work aside, I’m earning a well-above-average full-time income from NewsBreak alone.

--

--

Joel Eisenberg

Joel Eisenberg is an award-winning author, screenwriter, and producer. The Oscar in the profile pic isn’t his but he’s scheming. WGA and Pen America member.