Why I Refuse to Be a Fake, Apolitical Writer Who Lies to His Readers

I loathe Donald Trump. I’m pro-LGBTQ. I march with BLM. If you have an issue with any of it, read the next guy.

Joel Eisenberg
5 min readSep 7, 2020

--

Image courtesy VectorStock. Artist unknown.

I will never lie to increase my readership. I am scrupulously honest about my taste in movies, books, and television, religion, social issues, and politics.

Criticism comes with the territory.

So let’s invite some: Politics are just about the most important thing in our culture right now. To ignore 2020’s heightened tensions as a result of both national and international politics is folly.

I’m a U.S. citizen. The way I see these things, I not only believe it is necessary but I actively want to get along with Trump supporters. Really, I do, because we all need to co-exist.

But damn if I don’t hold some serious convictions of my own. Passivity is not one of them.

I expect violence in November, regardless of who wins the election, as at present our national polarization is boiling over not only for Democrats and Republicans, but also Independents.

You have another thing coming if you believe I’m going to sell out my morals and values when reaching across personal political lines, but I’m not so…

--

--

Joel Eisenberg

Joel Eisenberg is an award-winning author, screenwriter, and producer. The Oscar in the profile pic isn’t his but he’s scheming. WGA and Pen America member.