Do You Have a Moral Right to Preach About Politics if You Do Not Vote?

The most important election of our lifetime beckons. I recently read a disturbing Facebook post that shed light on a troubling passivity.

Joel Eisenberg
3 min readOct 26, 2020

--

I was utterly incensed last night.

I had noticed an old friend was posting political advice. Of course, there is nothing wrong there; I’d be disingenuous if I said otherwise, especially as I have not exactly been shy in expressing my own political opinions.

But those with whom I engage, regardless of political viewpoints, are part of the machine. That is to say, they are involved and care enough about their opinion to exert their right as a U.S. citizen and vote.

Instead, last night I read post after post from this individual of questionable platitudes to the point where I had an epiphany.

For the rest, I will share my own Facebook post on the matter, which I was compelled to post as a response.

The specifics will be self-explanatory …

From 10–24–2020:

I’m going to say this once, let it sit for a few minutes, then delete it. It is absolutely directed to someone here who will see it and maybe think before they respond.

--

--

Joel Eisenberg

Joel Eisenberg is an award-winning author, screenwriter, and producer. The Oscar in the profile pic isn’t his but he’s scheming. WGA and Pen America member.